How Biznik Can Help Your Business

Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 10.24.20 PMThis week, we are learning about industry-related social networks. Sound confusing? Yea, I was too. So I did some research and here is what I learned.. An industry-related social network exists to assist people in one industry in communicating and connecting with other professionals or people who are interested in the same thing. There are lots of different kinds of platforms, one for practicing physicians, one for lawyers, one for cyclists, you get the idea.

The one I looked at is called Biznik and it is a site for small business owners. Just looking at the site and the motto, I am beginning to think this is a great idea. How nice would it be for people who are going through the same thing to be able to advise each other and help each other through hard times. Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 10.28.57 PMHere is just a quarter of the list of all the different options and how many people are a part of each specific category.

I think this is such a great concept, as someone who is beginning my own small business I am thrilled that I can find more people in my field that I can connect with and try to learn from. This platform has lots of different possibilities, however I think that more things could be explored.

I do think that this platform needs to be publicized more, until this class I didn’t even know that this platform existed and as someone who is studying social media I would hope that I would know about innovative ideas like this. I do think that more publicity would help this platform grow extensively. Another part of the platform that could be extended is the fact that at this point only major cities are listed, so I feel like a lot of the community isn’t being reached.

Something that is great about this article is the fact that people are writing articles and reaching out to each other and connecting. For instance, here is a great article about how business owners can react, “When Someone Says They Don’t Have the Money.” This is an article that was reviewed as a 9.1 out of 10, and read 3,564 times. That kind of information is very helpful, it doesn’t matter what kind of business you are in, if you are a consultant, at some point or another people may try to get out of paying your fees. Articles like this can really help people have the right responses ready to go so that they aren’t fumbling for words, and can maintain their confidence in themselves and their business.

Biznik has been growing in popularity since its inception in 2005. There are various articles talking about how great a platform it is, and how it truly leads to one on one networking with other business owners. Here is one article from Squidoo, one from SmallBizTrends, and one from Meylah, just in case you think I may have had the kool-aid.

The article from SmallBizTrends talks about how by using Biznik, people were able to meet up and connect socially at events in order to network with other people. It is a great idea to help business owners who are local to the same area have the ability to connect and meet up. This could lend itself to business owners meeting new people, being able to get more people on email lists, gain more social media followers, and even possibly work at different relationships with different businesses based on interests. For instance, someone who sells pastries and is looking to expand may be able to drop off items at a store that sells other items in order to gain visibility in the community if the two business owners can work out a reciprocal deal. I see a lot of possibility for growth in this platform as it become more popular and gains notoriety, I for one will be joining today.

Leave a Reply

